Hyatt’s New Loyalty Program is Coming Soon

  • Date:
  • Posted by Melinda
  • Category: News

Please note that I receive compensation for many links on this blog. American Express and other banks are advertising partners of this site. Read my Advertiser Disclosure policy to learn more.

Rumors were swirling today via Matthew at Pen and Passport about massive changes to Hyatt’s Gold Passport Loyalty Program, and now we’ve received confirmation.

Starting March 1, 2017 Hyatt’s Gold Passport Program will go away and the new loyalty program will be ushered in, called “World of Hyatt“.

Here’s their launch video –

Hyatt Gold Passport has three tiers – Member, Platinum, and Diamond.

World of Hyatt will have four tiers – Member, Discoverist, Explorist, and Globalist.

If I had to put myself in a category I’d probably have to add another tier, called Loyalist. I tend to re qualify based on stays rather than nights.

Unfortunately, the days of qualifying for status via stays are over, but the new World of Hyatt loyalty program still lets you qualify with nights.

There’s also an option where you can now qualify with points, based on spend.

1 dollar is equivalent to 5 base points.

To reach the Discoverist tier, you need either 25,000 base points ($5,000 in spend) or 10 nights.

To reach the Explorist tier, you need either 50,000 base points ($10,000 in spend) or 30 nights.

To reach the highest tier of Globalist, you either need 100,000 base points ($20,000 in spend) or 60 nights.

Here are some of the tier benefits that I’ve seen today online –


Added benefits for the top Globalist tier per Matthew include not only the 4 confirmed suite upgrades that Gold Passport members current get, but also an extra confirmed suite upgrade for every 10 nights above the 60 required to achieve Globalist status. It caps out at an extra four, so if you have a lot of nights at Hyatt you could potentially end up with a whopping 8 confirmed suite upgrades! Plus, per View from the Wing, confirmed suite upgrades will be valid even on Award stays!

It also looks like there will be no resort fees plus free parking during award stays.

One Mile at a Time reports that you can also earn free nights regardless of what tier you are in, by staying at five different Hyatt brands on eligible stays (including Cash & Points). Limited to Category 1-4 properties for redemption, you can earn up to two award nights certificates.

There are many more details to come and get clarification on but so far this new loyalty program looks outstanding, especially for those that have elite status with Hyatt and stay upwards of 60 nights! Although it won’t be all roses for those in the mid-tier I am relieved that they aren’t gutting their program, and in fact even adding on some new benefits.

What do you think about Hyatt’s upcoming loyalty program change so far?

Editorial Note: The opinions expressed here are mine and not provided, reviewed or endorsed by any bank, card issuer, or other company including (but not limited to) American Express unless otherwise stated. Comments made in response to posts are not provided or commissioned, and they have not been reviewed or endorsed by any bank. It is not the responsibility of any advertiser to make sure that questions are answered.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the material on this site without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.